Berlin’s Buddy Bears in Delhi

On Tuesday morning, Delhiites welcomed the ambassadors of Berlin to their city. Under the aegis of the year of Germany in India, titled ‘Germany and India: Infinite Opportunities 2011-2012’, the Mayor of Berlin Klaus Wowereit and Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit inaugurated the exhibition of the United Buddy Bears at the Central Park in Connaught Place.

Welcoming the Buddy Bears to Delhi, Sheila Dikshit said, “The Buddy Bears represent love, affection, togetherness, peace and joy and I’m sure that people across age groups are going to enjoy this very much.”

The United Buddy Bears exhibition will be on display from 27 March to 11 May 2012.

Referring to the Buddy Bears as Berlin’s most likeable ambassadors, Klaus Wowereit said, “This colourful community of bears has been travelling the world for many years. At the same time, each of them symbolises the country of the artist who designed it. Through our Buddy Bears, with their artistic decorations, we are reaching out to the people of the world.”

A total of 143 Buddy Bears, representing a number of United Nations recognised countries, stand together “hand in hand”, symbolising the future-oriented vision of a peaceful world.

Following the motto “We have to get to know each other better…it makes us understand one another better, trust each other more, and live together more peacefully”, the 2m tall Buddy Bears promote tolerance and mutual understanding among different nations, cultures and religions.

On the occasion, the acting Ambassador of Germany to India Cord Meier-Klodt said, “It’s a delight to welcome 143 United Buddy Bears on their world tour to Delhi. It’s a message of peace and hope from the heart of Europe to the heart of the citizens of the biggest democracy in the world.”

The Buddy Bear is unique in its shape, and above all, in its symbolism. After its initial presentation in Berlin, the sculpture has become the city’s unofficial symbol. Since 2002, the “United Buddy Bears” have visited 23 metropolises, including Hong Kong, Tokyo, Istanbul, Sydney, Cairo, Jerusalem, Buenos Aires and Kuala Lumpur.